A highlight of the annual "Innovations in Health Science Education" conference is the presentation of the Innovations in Health Science Education awards.

The Awards recognize an individual or individuals who have implemented a project or program with a documented record of innovation and achievement in the last five years in undergraduate or graduate health science education, encompassing all of the health science disciplines, including educational programs for medical students, medical residents, undergraduate and graduate nursing students, dental students, public health professionals, and allied health professionals.

The Awards will be presented at the annual "Innovations in Health Science Education Conference." Awards' finalists make a brief formal presentation of their projects at the conference, followed by determination of the final rankings and presentation of the awards.

In competition, winners will receive a monetary award:
  • 1st Place......$7,500
  • 2nd Place.....$5,000
  • 3rd Place......$2,500
  • APPLICATION INFORMATION: Strict Proposal Deadline of October 11, 2013 at 5pm

    Note: 2012 Recipients are awarded in February 2013.

    2012 AWARDS

    2 - UTMDACC; 0 - UTHSC-T; 4 - UTMB

    First Place:
    John D. Rugh, Ph.D.
    The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    Title: The San Antonio ‘CATs (Critically Appraised Topics) Initiative’ Incorporating Evidence-based Practice into the Dental School Curriculum

    Second Place:
    Craig Rubin, M.D., Amit Shah, M.D., and Lynne Kirk, M.D.
    The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
    Title: UT Southwestern Aging and Geriatrics Education Program

    Third Place:
    Virginia Niebuhr, Ph.D.
    The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
    Title: ADAPT (Any Day Any Place Teaching): An Online Instructional Technology Faculty Development Program