Second Annual Conference on Innovations in Medical Education

The Conference was held October 6-7, 2005 at the Commons Center on the J.J. Pickle Research Campus in Austin, Texas. The theme was Competencies and Professionalism in Medical Education. Educators involved in undergraduate and graduate medical education attended, as well as colleagues from all medical campuses across the state.

Medical Education Small Grants
Program Awardees

Robert J. Bulik, Ph.D., Gurjeet S. Shokar, M.D., & and Karen E. Szauter, M.D.

Thomas R. Cole, Ph.D., Rebecca Lunstroth, J.D., Tamara Owens, B.S., & Lee Ann Reisenberg, Ph.D.

Virginia Niebuhr, Ph.D., Patricia Beach, M.D., & Josť Gonzalez, M.D., J.D. M.S.Ed.

Allison R. Ownby, Ph.D., M.Ed., Eugene V. Boisaubin, M.D., Mark Farnie, M.D., Virginia Greene, B.A., & Tamara Owens, B.S.

Christine Turley, M.D., M.B.A. & Marilyn Marx, M.D., M.B.A.

James M. Wagner, M.S., & Cassie L. Murphy-Cullen, Ph.D.

Innovation in Medical Education Award Finalists


Gurjeet S. Shokar, M.D.


Robert J. Bulik, Ph. D.
Mark DeHaven, Ph.D.
Lew E. Foxhall, ,M.D.
Nora Gimpel, M.D.
Linda Z. Nieman, Ph.D.

Thursday and Friday
October 6-7, 2005


Commons Center
J.J. Pickle Research Campus
Austin, Texas


Organized by L. Maximilian Buja, M.D., of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, the Chancellor's Health Fellow in Education. Assisting Dr. Buja is a steering committee of health campuses' representatives.


Video Presentations

2005 Archived Video


2004 Archived Video


Bringing together the brightest minds from the University of Texas System's six health institutions to share cutting-edge information and ideas on medical education.