Offices of General Counsel

Attorneys, Professionals and Staff - By Specialty Area

Hold the "CTRL" key and click to select multiple items.
Name and TitleContact InformationSpecialty Areas
Kyle ZumBerge
Assistant General Counsel - Legal Expert
(512) 499-4394
kzumberge@utsystem.edu
Athletics_sponsor, Charitable Giving, Sponsorship, Tax, Un_Busi_Inc_Tax
Ana Vieira Ayala
Assistant General Counsel, Public Information Coordinator
(512) 499-4563
avieira@utsystem.edu
Open Records
Cynthia Tynan
Senior Attorney, Public Information Coordinator
(512) 499-4505
ctynan@utsystem.edu
Open Records
Kirk Tames
Executive Director of Real Estate
(512) 499-4369
ktames@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Paul Steinkraus
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4506
psteinkraus@utsystem.edu
Contracts (Procurement), Strategic Alliance
Derek Silva
Assistant Director of Real Estate
(512) 579-5044
dsilva@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Daniel H. Sharphorn
Vice Chancellor and General Counsel
(512) 499-4462
dsharphorn@utsystem.edu
Administrative, Compliance, Conflict of Interest and Ethics, Employment -- Faculty Tenure, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge
Scott Patterson
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4528
spatterson@utsystem.edu
Contracts (Procurement), Software Licensing
Geoffrey Richards
Senior Real Estate Officer
(512) 499-4336
grichards@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Ashley Palermo
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4471
apalermo@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Litigation, Tort
Omar A. Syed
Associate Vice Chancellor and Deputy General Counsel
(512) 499-4481
osyed@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Faculty Tenure, Employment -- Litigation, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge, Law Enforcement, Student Issues -- Discipline and Dismissal, Student Issues -- Fraternities, Student Issues -- Tuition and Fees, Tort, Workers' Compensation Insurance
Ashley Kipp
Portfolio Manager
(512) 579-5074
akipp@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Kent Kostka
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4467
kkostka@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Hospital Liens, Creditors' Rights -- Medical Accounts
Jim Phillips
Senior Associate General Counsel & Managing Attorney, Business Law Section
(512) 499-4474
jphillips@utsystem.edu
Administrative, Corporate Namings, Environmental Law
Jason King
Associate Compliance Officer/Ethics Officer
512-499-4465
jking@utsystem.edu
Conflict of Interest and Ethics, Governmental Relations, Legislation
Hannah Huckaby
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4713
hhuckaby@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Student Loan Litigation
Ha Dao
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4522
hdao@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business, Real Estate -- Legal
Thomas Groce
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4748
tgroce@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business, Real Estate -- Legal
Mark Gentle
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4502
mgentle@utsystem.edu
Banking, Contracts (Procurement)
Melissa Garcia
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 579-5106
mgarcia@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Litigation, Tort
Evan Fitzmaurice
Assistant General Counsel - Legal Expert
(512) 499-4492
efitzmaurice@utsystem.edu
Technology Transfer and Commercialization -- General, Technology Transfer and Commercialization -- Legal
Allene Evans
Senior Associate General Counsel & Managing Attorney - Health Law Section
(512) 499-4630
aevans@utsystem.edu
Healthcare -- Litigation, Healthcare -- Professional Licensing / Disciplinary Matters
Tamra English
Senior Associate General Counsel & Managing Attorney, General Law Section
(512) 499-4489
tenglish@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Faculty Tenure, Employment -- Litigation, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge, Law Enforcement, Student Issues -- Discipline and Dismissal, Student Issues -- Fraternities, Student Issues -- Tuition and Fees, Tort
Edwin Smith
Assistant General Counsel - Construction
(512) 499-4491
esmith@utsystem.edu
Construction
Ed Walts
Senior Attorney and Senior Real Estate Officer
(512) 322-3720
ewalts@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Don Jansen
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4493
djansen@utsystem.edu
Charitable Giving, Employee Benefits -- Retirement, Tax
Dana Hollingsworth
Practice Coordinator, Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4475
dholling@utsystem.edu
Contracts (Procurement), Utility Matters
James Cox
Assistant General Counsel - Legal Expert
(512) 499-4337
jcox@utsystem.edu
Copyright, Intellectual Property and Technology Transactions, Telecommunications and FCC Compliance, Trademark
Traci Cotton
Senior Associate General Counsel & Managing Attorney - Claims & Financial Litigation Section
(512) 499-4490
tcotton@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- Bankruptcy, Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Medical Accounts, Creditors' Rights -- Probate (Medical Accounts)
Steve Collins
Associate Vice Chancellor For Governmental Relations & Special Counsel
(512) 499-4679
scollins@utsystem.edu
Governmental Relations, Legislation
Carrie Clark
General Counsel of University Lands
713-352-3830
cclark@utsystem.edu
Oil and Gas
Jennifer Burnett
Attorney, Public Information Coordinator
(512) 579-5187
jburnett@utsystem.edu
Open Records
Nina Burke
Junior Real Estate Officer
(512) 499-4247
nburke@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Kevin Brown
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4462
kbrown@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Medical Accounts, Creditors' Rights -- Probate (Medical Accounts)
Timothy Boughal
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4463
tboughal@utsystem.edu
Healthcare -- Litigation, Healthcare -- Professional Licensing / Disciplinary Matters
BethLynn Maxwell
Associate General Counsel
(512) 499-4518
bmaxwell@utsystem.edu
Intellectual Property and Technology -- General, Intellectual Property and Technology Transactions, Technology Transfer and Commercialization -- Legal