Business Law

Attorneys and Staff

Jim Phillips is Senior Associate General Counsel and Managing Attorney of the Business Law Section.  The Section is organized into three key practice groups and additional specialty practices. Attorneys in the Section are James Cox, Evan Fitzmaurice, Mark Gentle, Dana Hollingsworth, Don Jansen, Beth Mack, BethLynn Maxwell, Scott Patterson, Edwin Smith, Paul Steinkraus, and Kyle ZumBerge.


Staff are Chris Jackson, Catherine Pennington, Marcella Trant and Salena Yzaguirre.




This Section supports the commercial and business activities of UT System and UT institutions and provides legal counsel and advice primarily to the chief business officers and the departments under their supervision. The Section is responsible for legal matters relating to:

  • construction contracts and disputes;
  • environmental, health and safety issues;  
  • equipment and services procurement and contracting;
  • gifts, estates and trusts;
  • intellectual property research and development, protection and technology transfer;
  • oil and gas leasing and production;
  • public finance; and
  • tax and employee benefits.


  • © The University of Texas System

  • Office of General Counsel
  • 201 West 7th Street
  • Austin, TX 78701
  • Phone: 512.499.4462
  • Fax: 512.499.4523