UT System Police Featured Officer of the Month


September 2016

Arthur Barrera

UT Rio Grande Valley PD

Arthur Barrera

Lieutenant Arthur Barrera began his law enforcement career in October 1984 when he graduated from the Texas Department of Public Safety Academy.  After graduation, Barrera was stationed in Zapata as a Texas Highway Patrol Trooper.

In 1987, and after three years of service in Zapata, Trooper Barrera transferred to the McAllen Highway Patrol sub-district office.

After 11 successful years of service with the Highway Patrol, Trooper Barrera promoted to the Motor Vehicle Theft Service earning the rank of Sergeant Investigator.  

While performing his duties with the Motor Vehicle Theft Service, Sergeant Barrera was inducted into the “Million Dollar Club” for three straight years for consistently recovering over a million dollars’ worth of motor vehicles that included, boats, truck tractors, and heavy equipment.  Sergeant Barrera often traveled to Mexico and collaborated with the Mexican Federal Highway Patrol and State Judicial Police to repatriate stolen vehicles back to the United States.

Sergeant Barrera was also assigned duties within the Motor Vehicle Theft Service that included; pari-mutual betting investigations, special crime investigations, and intelligence duties.  Sergeant Barrera also created a task force that was comprised of US Border Patrol intelligence agents, DPS Motor Vehicle Theft Sergeants, and Sheriff Office Deputies.  This team targeted drug and human stash houses with the nexus of stolen trucks used to facilitate smuggling activities along the border.

Sergeant Barrera was also tasked by the Motor Vehicle Theft Commander to be the team leader in south Texas for the Raid Entry Tactical Team that targeted the “Texas Top Ten” most wanted fugitives in the State of Texas.  During this transition Sergeant Barrera became a CQB, shoot-house firearms instructor often training with the Houston PD SWAT team.

After serving with the Motor Vehicle Theft Service for 13 years, Sergeant Barrera was promoted to Sergeant with Texas Rangers in 2008 and was stationed with DEA in McAllen.

In 2009, Ranger Barrera was recognized by the Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigations after he located a 4-year old kidnapped female child from Hidalgo, Texas, at a ranch house in Mercedes, Texas.  During the course of the investigation, Ranger Barrera received information on the subject’s location, he assembled a small group of officers and successfully rescued the kidnapped child who was found bound and gagged.

The subject was arrested on kidnapping and aggravated sexual assault charges.  Ranger Barrera obtained a full confession of the subject and after testifying in court, the subject was given a 240-year prison sentence.
In 2009, Ranger Barrera was promoted to Staff Lieutenant with the Texas Rangers and became the supervisor of the DPS RGV Joint Operations Intelligence Center (JOIC) located at the US Border Patrol Sector Headquarters in Edinburg.  Ranger Barrera was assigned to supervise the Laredo, Edinburg and Victoria JOIC operations with over 30 employees that consisted of Texas Military Forces and civilians.

In 2015, Ranger Barrera retired from the Texas Department of Public Safety as a Texas Ranger Staff Lieutenant with 31 years of state service.

In the summer of 2015, Ranger Barrera began a second career and began employment with the University of Texas System Police as a Lieutenant with the UT-RGV Police Department.  Lieutenant Barrera is assigned to the Professional Standards Unit.

Lieutenant Barrera is a graduate of the University of Texas-Pan American and is married to Joan, a school teacher.  Lieutenant Barrera has two daughters and has a “house divided” — Jennifer, the oldest and a graduate from Texas A&M, College Station, and Jacklyn, a graduate of University of Texas, Austin, who served as president and head cheerleader for the UT Longhorns.




Click the links below to go directly to prior Officers of the Month

July 2016

Van Slusser

UT Rio Grande PD

August 2016

Alicia Dockens

UT Health Science Center San Antonio


April 2016

Wayne Coffey

UT Austin PD

May 2016

Pete Hensgen

UT El Paso PD

June 2016

Ronnie Johnson

UT Medical Branch Galveston PD

January 2016

Kenneth Baptiste

UT Southwestern Medical Center PD

February 2016

W.J. Braunsdorf

UT Medical Branch PD

March 2016

Bill Zimmerman

UT Arlington PD

October 2015

Beverly Kennedy

UT Tyler Police

November 2015

James Vernier

UT Arlington PD

December 2015

Brett Watkins

UT Austin PD

July 2015

John W. Siverand, Jr.

UT MB Galveston PD

August 2015

Maranda Tupper

UT San Antonio PD

September 2015

Brian Kneisley

UT Permian Basin PD

April 2015

Cynthia Loredo

UT Southwestern Medical Center

May 2015

Pablo Lopez

UT Pan American

June 2015

Wayne Smith

UT Houston PD

January 2015

Robert Major

UT San Antonio PD

February 2015

Adela Leal

UT Health Science Center San Antonio PD

March 2015

Jacob Corbitt

UT Medical Branch - Galveston

October 2014

Diego Mata

UT Pan American PD

November 2014

John Morrison

UT Arlington PD

December 2014

Jason Rask

UT Austin PD

July 2014

Officer Carolina Villareal

UT Austin PD

August 2014

Officer Robert Trimyer

UT Health Science Center San Antonio PD

September 2014

Stacey Rotunno

UT Dallas PD


April 2014

Gordon Firth

UT Dallas PD

May 2014

John Armstead

UT Houston PD

June 2014

Rey Trevino

UT Brownsville PD


January 2014

Robert DeRohn

UT San Antonio PD

February 2014

Joel Rivera

UT Arlington PD

March 2014

Natalie Rodriguez

UT Health Northeast PD


October 2013

Bobby Lane

UT San Antonio PD

November 2013

Charles Bonnet

UT Austin PD

December 2013

Kevin Gray

UT Houston PD


July 2013

Perla Noriega

UT Brownsville PD

August 2013

Jason Taylor

UT Austin PD

September 2013

Laura Davis

UT Austin PD


April 2013

Samantha Carter

UT Austin PD

May 2013

Jerry Blanco

UT Arlington PD

June 2013

David Sedmak

UT HSC San Antonio


January 2013

Clifford A. Douglas

UTMB Galveston PD

February 2013

Ashley Griffin

UT Austin PD

March 2013

Homar Bahena

UT Brownsville PD


October 2012

Scott H. Barnwell

UT MD Anderson PD

November 2012

Liju George

UT Southwestern PD

December 2012

Brandy Elliot

UT Tyler PD


July 2012

Molly Ralph

UT Pan American PD

August 2012

Joseph Michael Pasqua

UT Austin PD

September 2012

Dava Barnhart

UT Austin PD


April 2012

Angelia Lemmonds

UT MD Anderson PD

May 2012

Adam Jones

UT Southwestern PD

June 2012

Stefan Happ

UT MD Anderson PD




  • © 2007 The University of Texas System
  • 702 Colorado Street
  • Suite 1.122
  • Austin, TX 78701
  • Ph: (512) 499-4680
  • Fax: (512) 499-4684