Three UT System individuals elected to Institute of Medicine

The National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine (IOM) elected three individuals from University of Texas System institutions for membership last week. Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.  

Waun Ki Hong, M.D., UT MD Anderson Cancer Center; Carlos Roberto Jaen, M.D., Ph.D., UTHSC-San Antonio; and Helen Piwnica-Worms, Ph.D., UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, are among the 70 new members and 10 foreign associates announced during the IOM’s 43rd annual meeting Oct. 21.

Waun Ki Hong, M.D., FACP, D.M.Sc. (Hon.), head, division of cancer medicine; American Cancer Society Professor; Samsung Distinguished University Chair in Cancer Medicine; and professor of medicine, department of thoracic/head and neck medical oncology; The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.
Carlos Roberto Jaén, M.D., Ph.D., Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holly Distinguished Professor and chair, department of family and community medicine, The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.
Helen Piwnica-Worms, Ph.D., vice provost for science, and professor of cancer biology, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

In a statement released by the IOM, President Harvey V. Fineberg said, "It is an honor to welcome our highly distinguished colleagues to the Institute of Medicine. These individuals have inspired us through their achievements in research, teaching, clinical work and other contributions to the medical field. Their knowledge and skills will deeply enrich the IOM."

New members are elected by current active members through a selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.  

Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, IOM has become recognized as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on health issues. With their election, members make a commitment to volunteer their service on IOM committees, boards and other activities.  

To learn more and view a list of all new IOM members, visit