Wildenthal named UT Southwestern President Emeritus

Easy Social

The University of Texas System Board of Regents have appointed C. Kern Wildenthal, M.D., Ph.D., as President Emeritus and Professor of Medicine Emeritus at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

During Wildenthal’s tenure at UT Southwestern, the institution grew fivefold in size and emerged as one of the leading medical institutions in the world; research expenditures grew more than tenfold to nearly $400 million per year; four of its faculty won Nobel Prizes, 19 were elected members of the National Academy of Sciences and 50 were named as presidents of national societies of their clinical and research specialties.

Wildenthal was the second president of UT Southwestern, serving in that position from 1986-2008. He joined the UT Southwestern faculty as an assistant professor of medicine and physiology in 1970, became an associate professor in 1971 and full professor in 1975. From 1976 to 1980, he served as dean of the graduate school, and from 1980 to 1986 he was dean of the medical school.

Read more about Dr. Wildenthal here.