Five UT System faculty members inducted into 2013 National Academy of inventors

Easy Social

Five University of Texas System faculty members, four from UT Arlington and one from UT Austin, are among 143 innovators recently named to Fellowship in the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The 2013 group represents 94 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions.

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.

UT Arlington Fellows are Frank Lewis, electrical engineering professor and a University Distinguished Scholar Professor; Carolyn Cason, a nursing professor and vice president for research; Ron Elsenbaumer, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and provost and vice president for academic affairs; and UT Arlington President Vistasp M. Karbhari, a professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering and of civil and environmental engineering.

UT Austin Fellow is Robert Metcalf, professor of innovation and Murchison Fellow of Free Enterprise, Cockrell School of Engineering.

For more information and a complete list of 2013 inductees, visit