The University of Texas of the Permian Basin | University of Texas System

The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

President W. David Watts, Ph.D.

Dr. W. David WattsDr. W. David WattsDr. W. David Watts was named president of UT Permian Basin in February 2001 and took office in early summer 2001. Watts was formerly the vice president for academic and student affairs at Jacksonville State University in Alabama since 1996. Prior to that, he was dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of sociology at Southeastern Louisiana University, a faculty member at Southwest Texas State University in San Marcos, and a faculty member at Ohio University. Watts earned a bachelor’s degree in sociology and English from UT Austin and earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology from the State University of New York at Buffalo. © 2017 The University of Texas System.
601 Colorado Street, Austin, Texas 78701-2982. (512) 499-4200