Main page content

UT Dallas Presidential Search Advisory Committee named

AUSTIN — A committee to advise The University of Texas System Board of Regents on the selection of a president for UT Dallas was announced today (Aug. 20) by Regents’ Chairman Paul L. Foster.

The UT Dallas presidential search advisory committee will make recommendations on possible successors to David E. Daniel, who assumed a new leadership position as the UT System’s deputy chancellor and chief operating officer this summer.

The search advisory committee will be asked to present names of potential candidates to the board, which will make the final decision. Committee members were selected in accordance with the Board of Regents’ Rules and Regulations, which include a provision for representation on such committees by various constituencies of the institution.

“UT Dallas is a renowned academic institution that conducts innovative research, offers new discoveries and provides a world-class education for our next-generation leaders. It is on a beautiful trajectory, and we will seek a leader who can continue that accelerated path,” Foster said. “The distinguished individuals who will serve on this advisory committee bring a broad perspective, varied experience and sound judgment to this important selection process. The board is grateful for their willingness to serve and looks forward to receiving their recommendations.”

Steven Leslie, Ph.D., UT System executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, will chair the committee.

Representing the Board of Regents on the committee will be Regent David J. Beck, Regent Sara Martinez Tucker and Student Regent Justin Drake.

Representing the presidents of other UT System institutions are Vistasp M. Karbhari, Ph.D., president of UT Arlington; and Kirk A. Calhoun, M.D., president of UT Health Science Center at Tyler.

Representing UT Dallas deans, faculty and students are Mark Spong, D.Sc., dean of The Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science; Murray Leaf, Ph.D., professor of economic, political and policy sciences; Ramaswamy “Chandra” Chandrasekaran, Ph.D., professor of computer science; Jennifer Holmes, Ph.D., professor of economic, political and policy sciences; and Caitlynn Fortner, student government president.

Representing UT Dallas staff and alumni are Paula Austell; director of Endowment Services; and Jefflyn Williamson, CEO of Jefflyn & Company.

The external and community members of the search advisory committee are Debbie Francis, chair of the UT Dallas Center for BrainHealth Board; James Huffines, president and COO of the PlainsCapital Corporation; Rich Templeton, CEO of Texas Instruments; and Larry Warder, COO of the O’Donnell Foundation.

The UT System will establish a website to provide information regarding the search, including a timeline, and will provide an opportunity for members of the public to privately submit nominations for the next president of UT Dallas. The website will be publicized as soon as it is operational.

Russell Reynolds Associates is assisting the UT System in the national search.

About The University of Texas System

Educating students, providing care for patients, conducting groundbreaking basic, applied and clinical research, and serving the needs of Texans and the nation for more than 130 years, The University of Texas System is one of the largest public university systems in the United States. With 14 institutions and an enrollment of more than 217,000, the UT System confers more than one-third of the state’s undergraduate degrees, educates almost two-thirds of the state’s health care professionals annually and accounts for almost 70 percent of all research funds awarded to public institutions in Texas. The UT System has an annual operating budget of $15.6 billion (FY 2015) including $3 billion in sponsored programs funded by federal, state, local and private sources. With about 20,000 faculty – including Nobel laureates – and more than 70,000 health care professionals, researchers, student advisors and support staff, the UT System is one of the largest employers in the state.

News Contact Information

Jenny LaCoste-Caputo:  • 512-499-4361(direct) • 512-574-5777 (cell) 
Karen Adler:  • 512-499-4360 (direct) • 210-912-8055 (cell)