Site - Ken Shine Section Header

Page title


Main page content

A highlight of the annual "Innovations in Health Science Education" conference is the presentation of the Innovations in Health Science Education award.

The Award recognizes an individual or individuals who have implemented a project or program with a documented record of innovation and achievement in the last five years in undergraduate or graduate health science education, encompassing all of the health science disciplines, including educational programs for medical students, medical residents, undergraduate and graduate nursing students, dental students, public health professionals, and allied health professionals.

The Award will be presented at the annual "Innovations in Health Science Education Conference. Following presentations by three finalists and a vote by Academy members to determine 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners, finalists will share a $5,000 award.

APPLICATION INFORMATION: Information will be posted here in the fall.

(bestowed February 2022)

First Place:
Robert Nathanson, MD, FACP;
Minh-Phuong Le, MD; Kevin Proud, MD, FCCP 
UT Health San Antonio
Development of a Point-of-Care Ultrasound Track for Internal Medicine Residents.

Second Place:
Michelle Thompson, DDS;
Gary Frey, DDS; Amity Gardner, DDS; Steve Laman, DDS; Maria Loza, DMD, MS; Shalizeh Patel, DDS, MEd; Ryan Quock, DDS; Kimberly Ruona, DDS.
UT Health Houston
Integrating Digital Dentistry into a Four-year Dental School Curriculum

Third Place:
Sara E. Noble, MD; Jessica F. Sandoval, MD; Charles W. Mathias, PhD.
UT Health San Antonio
Mental Health & Advocacy in Action: A Workshop Didactic Elective for Psychiatry Residents