Offices of General Counsel

Attorneys, Professionals and Staff - By Specialty Area

Hold the "CTRL" key and click to select multiple items.
Name and TitleContact InformationSpecialty Areas
Alan Marks
Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs & Athletics Counsel
(512) 322-3770
amarks@utsystem.edu
Athletics -- NCAA
Allene Evans
Senior Associate General Counsel & Managing Attorney - Health Law Section
(512) 499-4630
aevans@utsystem.edu
Healthcare -- General, Healthcare -- Litigation, Healthcare -- Operations and Regulation, Healthcare -- Professional Liability, Healthcare -- Professional Liability Plan Management, Healthcare -- Professional Licensing / Disciplinary Matters, Healthcare -- Transactions
Ana Vieira Ayala
Assistant General Counsel, Public Information Coordinator
(512) 499-4563
avieira@utsystem.edu
Open Records
Ashley Kipp
Portfolio Manager
(512) 579-5074
akipp@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Ashley Palermo
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4471
apalermo@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Litigation, Tort
BethLynn Maxwell
Associate General Counsel
(512) 499-4518
bmaxwell@utsystem.edu
Conflict of Interest and Ethics, Healthcare -- General, Healthcare -- Transactions, Intellectual Property and Technology -- General, Intellectual Property and Technology Transactions, Patent, Technology Transfer and Commercialization -- General, Technology Transfer and Commercialization -- Legal
Carrie Clark
General Counsel of University Lands
713-352-3830
cclark@utsystem.edu
Oil and Gas
Cristina Blanton
Assistant Systemwide Compliance Privacy Officer
512-852-3264
cblanton@utsystem.edu
Compliance, Healthcare -- General, Information Security, Privacy and Security, Student Issues -- FERPA
Cynthia Tynan
Senior Attorney, Public Information Coordinator
(512) 499-4505
ctynan@utsystem.edu
Open Records, Student Issues -- FERPA
Dana Hollingsworth
Practice Coordinator, Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4475
dholling@utsystem.edu
Athletics -- NCAA, Banking, Contracts (Procurement), Software Licensing, Telecommunications and FCC Compliance, Utility Matters
Daniel H. Sharphorn
Vice Chancellor and General Counsel
(512) 499-4462
dsharphorn@utsystem.edu
Administrative, Compliance, Conflict of Interest and Ethics, Employment -- Faculty Tenure, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge
Don Jansen
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4493
djansen@utsystem.edu
Charitable Giving, Employee Benefits -- Retirement, Tax
Ed Walts
Senior Attorney and Senior Real Estate Officer
(512) 322-3720
ewalts@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business, Real Estate -- Legal
Edwin Smith
Assistant General Counsel - Construction
(512) 499-4491
esmith@utsystem.edu
Construction
Evan Fitzmaurice
Assistant General Counsel - Legal Expert
(512) 499-4492
efitzmaurice@utsystem.edu
Strategic Alliance, Intellectual Property and Technology -- General, Intellectual Property and Technology Transactions, Software Licensing, Technology Transfer and Commercialization -- General, Technology Transfer and Commercialization -- Legal
Geoffrey Richards
Assistant Director of Real Estate
(512) 499-4336
grichards@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Ha Dao
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4522
hdao@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business, Real Estate -- Legal
Hannah Huckaby
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4713
hhuckaby@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Student Loan Litigation, Student Issues -- FERPA, Student Issues -- Tuition and Fees
James Cox
Assistant General Counsel - Legal Expert
(512) 499-4337
jcox@utsystem.edu
Copyright, Intellectual Property and Technology Transactions, Telecommunications and FCC Compliance, Trademark
Jason King
Associate Compliance Officer/Ethics Officer
512-499-4465
jking@utsystem.edu
Conflict of Interest and Ethics, Governmental Relations, Legislation
Jennifer Burnett
Senior Attorney, Public Information Coordinator
(512) 579-5187
jburnett@utsystem.edu
Open Records, Student Issues -- Discipline and Dismissal
Kent Kostka
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4467
kkostka@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Hospital Liens, Creditors' Rights -- Medical Accounts
Kevin Brown
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4462
kbrown@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Medical Accounts, Creditors' Rights -- Probate (Medical Accounts)
Kirk Tames
Executive Director of Real Estate
(512) 499-4369
ktames@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Kyle ZumBerge
Assistant General Counsel - Legal Expert
(512) 499-4394
kzumberge@utsystem.edu
Charitable Giving, Tax
Lee Roy Calderon
Attorney
(512) 499-4499
lcalderon@utsystem.edu
Employee Benefits -- Insurance and Related Benefits, Employee Benefits -- Retirement, Employment -- Litigation, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge, Student Issues -- Discipline and Dismissal, Tort
Melissa Garcia
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 579-5106
mgarcia@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Faculty Tenure, Employment -- Litigation, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge, Student Issues -- Discipline and Dismissal, Student Issues -- Tuition and Fees
Nina Farrell
Associate Real Estate Officer
(512) 499-4247
nfarrell@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Business
Omar A. Syed
Associate Vice Chancellor and Deputy General Counsel
(512) 499-4481
osyed@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Faculty Tenure, Employment -- Litigation, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge, Law Enforcement, Student Issues -- Discipline and Dismissal, Student Issues -- Fraternities, Student Issues -- Tuition and Fees, Tort, Workers' Compensation Insurance
Paul Steinkraus
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4506
psteinkraus@utsystem.edu
Contracts (Procurement), Strategic Alliance
Scott Patterson
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4528
spatterson@utsystem.edu
Contracts (Procurement), Software Licensing
Tamra English
Senior Associate General Counsel & Managing Attorney, General Law Section
(512) 499-4489
tenglish@utsystem.edu
Employment -- Faculty Tenure, Employment -- Litigation, Employment -- Staff Discipline and Discharge, Law Enforcement, Student Issues -- Discipline and Dismissal, Student Issues -- Fraternities, Student Issues -- Tuition and Fees, Tort
Thomas Groce
Senior Attorney
(512) 499-4748
tgroce@utsystem.edu
Real Estate -- Legal
Timothy Boughal
Assistant General Counsel
(512) 499-4463
tboughal@utsystem.edu
Healthcare -- Litigation, Healthcare -- Professional Licensing / Disciplinary Matters
Traci Cotton
Senior Associate General Counsel & Managing Attorney - Claims & Financial Litigation Section
(512) 499-4490
tcotton@utsystem.edu
Creditors' Rights -- Bankruptcy, Creditors' Rights -- General Business, Creditors' Rights -- Medical Accounts, Creditors' Rights -- Probate (Medical Accounts), Student Issues -- Tuition and Fees